星期一, 4 月 22, 2024

美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 选择不对支持 Grayscale 努力将其比特币信托 (GBTC) 转变为现货比特币交易所交易基金 (ETF) 的司法判决提出上诉。在 Grayscale 对 SEC 最初拒绝批准转换的决定提出异议后,决定放弃在 45 天的时间内提出上诉。

此前周五,路透社和彭博社等新闻媒体援引知情人士的话说,在上诉截止日期到期之前,委员会无意质疑美国哥伦比亚特区上诉法院 8 月下旬的裁决电路。这项裁决撤销了 SEC 最初拒绝 Grayscale 申请的决定。

Grayscale 针对 SEC 采取的法律行动表明,监管机构此前已批准旨在减少比特币期货 ETF 欺诈活动的监督协议。因此,Grayscale 认为,考虑到这两种投资工具都以比特币定价为基础,同样的理由也应该适用于比特币现货 ETF 的申请。巡回法院主审法官将 SEC 的拒绝描述为“任意且反复无常”,并批评该机构未能阐明为何以不同方式对待类似的金融工具。

现货比特币 ETF 将允许投资者获得这种卓越加密货币的财务敞口,而无需直接拥有所有权。加密货币行业和传统金融市场利益相关者一直在积极寻求此类金融产品的监管许可。

尽管 2021 年批准了与比特币期货相关的 ETF,但 SEC 尚未批准任何现货比特币 ETF。此前,该机构曾拒绝过类似的申请;然而,今年,它考虑了多项提议,其中包括金融集团贝莱德的一项提议。

美国证券交易委员会还推迟了对几项待决申请的最终判决。仅在 9 月份,该机构就推迟了对 Blackrock、Valkyrie、Bitwise、Invesco、Ark 21shares、Global X 等公司申请的决定。此外,截至8月底,对Wisdomtree、Vaneck和Fidelity的提案的判断也被搁置。美国证券交易委员会要到明年才能得出最终结论。

在灰度的具体案件中,预计上诉法院将发布一项授权书,详细说明如何执行其决定。正如路透社在其报道中指出的那样,这可能会导致 SEC 重新考虑 Grayscale 的申请。彭博社的分析师詹姆斯·塞法特 (James Seyffart) 预计,灰度和 SEC 之间的对话可能会在下周开始。

我们邀请您对美国现货比特币 ETF 的未来前景发表看法。请在下面的评论部分分享您的想法。

关于 Grayscale 现货比特币 ETF 的常见问题 (FAQ)

美国 SEC 不对法院对灰度现货比特币 ETF 的判决提起上诉有何意义?

美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 决定不对法院有利于灰度的裁决提出上诉,这标志着美国加密货币行业的潜在关键时刻。这可能为进一步监管审查和批准现货比特币 ETF 敞开大门,比特币 ETF 一直是加密货币和传统金融市场感兴趣的主题。

谁是灰度,什么是现货比特币 ETF?

Grayscale 是一家加密资产管理公司,一直在寻求将其现有的比特币信托(GBTC)转换为现货比特币交易所交易基金(ETF)。现货比特币 ETF 将允许投资者获得比特币的财务风险,而无需直接拥有加密货币。

SEC 对 Grayscale 申请的最初立场是什么?

美国证券交易委员会最初拒绝了 Grayscale 将其比特币信托转换为现货比特币 ETF 的申请。 Grayscale 随后对 SEC 提起法律诉讼,认为该机构已批准针对比特币期货 ETF 的类似安排,并应在其申请中采用相同的理由。

美国哥伦比亚特区巡回上诉法院做出了什么裁决?

法院做出了有利于 Grayscale 的裁决,推翻了 SEC 最初拒绝该申请的决定。主审法官批评美国证券交易委员会的决定“武断且反复无常”,并指出该机构未能解释为何以不同方式对待类似的金融产品。

Grayscale 和 SEC 的下一步计划是什么?

预计上诉法院将发布一项授权书,概述如何执行其裁决。这可能包括指示 SEC 重新审查 Grayscale 的申请。 Grayscale 和 SEC 之间关于此事的对话预计将于下周开始。

这对于其他寻求推出现货比特币 ETF 的公司来说意味着什么?

虽然法院的裁决特别涉及灰度,但它开创了一个潜在的先例,可能会影响未来对类似应用程序的决定。美国证券交易委员会目前正在审查多个其他现货比特币 ETF 申请,并要到明年才能做出最终决定。

有关 Grayscale 现货比特币 ETF 的更多信息

通讯

订阅我的时事通讯以获取新的博客文章、提示和新照片。让我们保持更新!

5 评论

持怀疑态度的投资者 10 月 15, 2023 - 3:25 上午

SEC 不上诉并不意味着他们会批准它。在宣布灰度或加密货币获胜之前,我会先按兵不动。规则可以很快改变。

回复
加密货币爱好者 10 月 15, 2023 - 5:09 上午

最后,关于灰度的一些好消息!他们的 GBTC 一直有点停滞不前。现货ETF肯定会改变现状。整体加密货币的巨大胜利!

回复
华尔街老手 10 月 15, 2023 - 12:30 下午

如果灰度能够做到这一点,则意味着加密市场的成熟。最后是一些供严肃投资者考虑的机构产品。

回复
约翰·多伊42 10 月 15, 2023 - 9:46 下午

哇,没想到会这样。美国证券交易委员会的吸引力可能会改变加密货币市场的游戏规则。下一步是什么?

回复
2023年市场观察 10 月 15, 2023 - 10:03 下午

SEC的举动很有趣。如果 Grayscale 的现货比特币 ETF 获得批准,可能会为其他公司打开大门。扣好安全带,伙计们!

回复

发表评论

* 使用此表格即表示您同意本网站存储和处理您的数据。

跟着我们

加密币顶部

CrypTokenTop 是一个致力于提供有关加密货币世界的全面信息和分析的网站。我们涵盖的主题包括比特币、以太坊、NFT、ICO 和其他流行的加密主题。我们的使命是帮助人们更多地了解加密空间,并就他们的投资做出明智的决定。我们为初学者和有经验的用户提供深入的文章、分析和评论,因此每个人都可以充分利用不断发展的加密货币世界。

© 2023 保留所有权利。加密货币顶部

zh_CN简体中文

Saturday, July 20, 2024

The United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) has opted not to appeal a judicial verdict supporting Grayscale’s endeavor to transform its bitcoin trust (GBTC) into a spot bitcoin exchange-traded fund (ETF). The decision to forgo an appeal within the 45-day window comes after Grayscale had contested the SEC’s initial denial to approve the conversion.

Previously on Friday, knowledgeable individuals, cited by news outlets such as Reuters and Bloomberg, divulged prior to the expiration of the appeal deadline that the Commission had no intentions of challenging the late-August ruling by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. This ruling had set aside the SEC’s initial denial of Grayscale’s application.

Grayscale’s legal action against the SEC posited that the regulatory body had previously endorsed surveillance agreements aimed at mitigating fraudulent activities in bitcoin futures ETFs. Therefore, Grayscale argued, the same rationale should be extended to its application for a spot bitcoin ETF, given that both kinds of investment vehicles are predicated on bitcoin pricing. The presiding judge of the Circuit Court characterized the SEC’s refusal as “arbitrary and capricious,” criticizing the agency for failing to elucidate why it treated similar financial instruments differently.

A spot bitcoin ETF would allow investors to gain financial exposure to the preeminent cryptocurrency without the necessity of direct ownership. Both the cryptocurrency sector and traditional financial market stakeholders have been actively seeking regulatory consent for such financial products.

Despite authorizing ETFs connected to bitcoin futures in 2021, the SEC has not yet sanctioned any spot bitcoin ETFs. Previously, the agency had turned down similar applications; however, this year, it has taken under consideration multiple proposals, including one from the financial conglomerate Blackrock.

The SEC has also deferred its final judgement on several pending applications. In September alone, the agency postponed decisions on applications from Blackrock, Valkyrie, Bitwise, Invesco, Ark 21shares, Global X, among others. Additionally, as of the end of August, judgements on proposals from Wisdomtree, Vaneck, and Fidelity were also put on hold. The SEC has until the following year to arrive at its final conclusions.

In Grayscale’s specific case, the appellate court is anticipated to issue a mandate detailing how its decision is to be implemented. This could potentially direct the SEC to reconsider Grayscale’s application, as indicated by Reuters in its coverage. Bloomberg’s analyst James Seyffart projected that conversations between Grayscale and the SEC are likely to commence in the upcoming week.

We invite your perspectives on the future landscape of spot bitcoin ETFs in the United States. Please share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Grayscale’s Spot Bitcoin ETF

What is the significance of the U.S. SEC not appealing the court’s decision on Grayscale’s spot Bitcoin ETF?

The decision by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) not to appeal the court ruling in favor of Grayscale signifies a potentially pivotal moment for the crypto industry in the United States. This could open the doors for further regulatory scrutiny and approval of spot Bitcoin ETFs, which have been a subject of interest for both the crypto and traditional financial markets.

Who is Grayscale and what is a spot Bitcoin ETF?

Grayscale is a crypto asset manager that has been seeking to convert its existing bitcoin trust (GBTC) into a spot Bitcoin exchange-traded fund (ETF). A spot Bitcoin ETF would allow investors to gain financial exposure to Bitcoin without having to own the cryptocurrency directly.

What was the SEC’s original stance on Grayscale’s application?

The U.S. SEC initially denied Grayscale’s application to convert its bitcoin trust into a spot Bitcoin ETF. Grayscale then filed a legal action against the SEC, arguing that the agency had approved similar arrangements for Bitcoin futures ETFs and should apply the same rationale to its application.

What did the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit rule?

The court ruled in favor of Grayscale, overturning the SEC’s initial rejection of the application. The presiding judge criticized the SEC’s decision as “arbitrary and capricious,” stating that the agency failed to explain why it treated similar financial products differently.

What are the next steps for Grayscale and the SEC?

The appellate court is expected to issue a mandate that outlines how its decision should be implemented. This could include instructing the SEC to revisit Grayscale’s application. Conversations between Grayscale and the SEC regarding this matter are projected to commence in the upcoming week.

What does this mean for other companies seeking to launch a spot Bitcoin ETF?

While the court ruling specifically concerns Grayscale, it sets a potential precedent that could influence future decisions on similar applications. The SEC is currently reviewing multiple other applications for spot Bitcoin ETFs and has until the next year to make its final decisions.

More about Grayscale’s Spot Bitcoin ETF

Newsletter

Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

5 comments

SkepticalInvestor October 15, 2023 - 3:25 am

SEC not appealing doesn’t mean they’re approving it. I’d hold my horses before declaring a win for Grayscale or crypto. Rules can change fast.

Reply
CryptoEnthusiast October 15, 2023 - 5:09 am

Finally some good news for Grayscale! Their GBTC has been kinda stagnant. A spot ETF would definitely shake things up. Big win for crypto overall!

Reply
WallStVeteran October 15, 2023 - 12:30 pm

If Grayscale secures this, it’d signify a maturation of the crypto markets. Finally some institutional products for serious investors to consider.

Reply
JohnDoe42 October 15, 2023 - 9:46 pm

Wow, didnt see that coming. SEC not appealing could be a game changer for the crypto market. whats next?

Reply
MarketWatch2023 October 15, 2023 - 10:03 pm

SEC’s move is interesting. If Grayscale’s spot Bitcoin ETF gets the green light, it might open the floodgates for other companies. Buckle up, folks!

Reply

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Follow us

CryptokenTop

CrypTokenTop is a website dedicated to providing comprehensive information and analysis about the world of cryptocurrencies. We cover topics such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, NFTs, ICOs, and other popular crypto topics. Our mission is to help people learn more about the crypto space and make informed decisions about their investments. We provide in-depth articles, analysis, and reviews for beginners and experienced users alike, so everyone can make the most out of the ever-evolving world of cryptocurrency.

© 2023 All Right Reserved. CryptokenTop